Flag of Jamaica

Jamaica was a British colony between 1655 and 1962, when it got its independence.

The flag of Jamaica was adopted in August 6, 1962 (Jamaican Independence Day) and consists of:



  • a yellow diagonal cross
  • green above and below the cross
  • black on either side of the cross

The yellow represents the sun , the green represents the land and the black stands for the hardship. The three colors are also the Pan-African colors. Later, the meanings have been changed, so black represents the strength and creativity of the people, while green represents the lush vegetation of the island. Yellow still stands for the sun.

The Naval Ensign is a white ensign with a Saint George’s Cross and the flag of Jamaica in the canton, but it’s only used by the coastguard (Jamaica doesn’t have a navy). The State Ensign is a Blue Ensign with the Jamaican flag in the canton.

Photo credit

Related Content